At the special Leander ISD Board meeting Dec. 1, three newly elected Trustees – Sade Fashokun in Place 5, Francesca Romans in Place 6 and Paul Gauthier in Place 7 – took the oath of office.

Trustees also approved a reorganization of their officer positions. Trustees Trish Bode and Gloria Gonzales-Dholakia, Ph.D, will continue in their roles as president and vice president, respectively, with Trustee Anna Smith now filling the role of secretary.

Outgoing Members

To start the meeting, Superintendent Bruce Gearing shared remarks recognizing the service of the two outgoing Board members: Elexis Grimes and Aaron Johnson.

Grimes, who held the role of secretary, was elected in 2018 and provided insight on the following committees during her term: Legislative Priorities, Community Curriculum Advisory, School Safety and Security, and Long Range Planning.

Johnson joined the Board in 2011, serving on several committees, including Policy Review, Community Based Accountability System, School Health Advisory, School Safety and Security, Long Range Planning and Strategic Planning.

We thank them for their countless hours of hard work and dedication in service to our #1LISD community.