Recently elected trustees Elexis Grimes and Gloria Gonzales-Dholakia took office as the newest LISD board members. Gonzales-Dholakia and Grimes replace two longtime trustees who did not seek re-election, Don Hisle and Will Streit.

“As a parent and community member in Leander ISD, I am excited to bring my passion for education to our Board of Trustees,” Grimes said. “I look forward to learning and continuing to uphold LISD as a destination district through my commitment to academic excellence, balanced fiscal approach and community collaboration.”

Grimes, a parent of a Leander ISD graduate and an elementary school student, graduated from New Mexico State University with a degree in hotel, restaurant and tourism management. She has been an active volunteer in schools and with the LISD leadership committees, including the Bond Advisory Steering Committee and Financial Leadership LISD.

Gonzales-Dholakia, the former executive director of the Leander ISD Educational Excellence Foundation (LEEF) and current executive director for the Hanger Cooperation Foundation, is a parent and active volunteer with three sons. She holds degrees from the Baylor University, the University of Phoenix and a doctorate degree in instructional technology from the University of Texas.

“As a newly elected trustee, I have been entrusted by the community to work alongside my fellow board members to govern Leander ISD and ensure everything we do as a system is in the best interests of students, their safety and their learning,” Gonzales-Dholakia said. “We only exist as a system to support and foster student learning and success. I am humbled to serve LISD students, staff and our community. I look forward to engaging with all stakeholders as we work to fulfill our mission.”

The Board decided to continue its current leadership structure, including President Aaron Johnson, Vice President Grace Barber-Jordan, M.Ed., and Secretary Trish Bode. Policy BDAA (Legal) requires the Board to reorganize at the first meeting after each Trustee election and qualification of Board Members; however, the policy also allows the Board to reorganize at other times.

Johnson and Bode renewed their terms in office after winning re-election on Nov. 6. Trustees serve four-year terms and represent the district at-large.

“It speaks to how much this community values education that we continue to have such dedicated and committed leadership,” Superintendent Dan Troxell, Ph.D., said. “I very much look forward to working with these men and women representing our 40,000 students and electorate.”