Congratulations to our LISD winners of the Cedar Park Kiwanis 2020 Sophomore of the Year awards! Every year the non-profit awards scholarships to 10th graders with an emphasis on leadership qualities.

Winners of this year’s Cedar Park Kiwanis awards are:

  • Cedar Park High School: Jackson Streit
  • Glenn High School: Ryan Hopkins                             
  • Leander High School: Maria Angel Payan Silva          
  • Rouse High School: Areg Vartainian                           
  • Vandegrift High School: Joseph R. Painter                        
  • Vista Ridge High School: Praneeth Sajja                         

The organization uses this opportunity to encourage and prepare sophomores as they complete high school and beyond, to create the next generation of civic and corporate leadership. Plus, students gain experience in applying for scholarships earlier in their high school career.

“I have to say that the quality of the applications this year was outstanding,” Jan Duggan, Cedar Park Kiwanis treasurer said. “Some 150 applications were submitted. Selecting an overall winner was a difficult endeavor. We’re not only proud of the winners, but all those who submitted applications.”

Each winner will receive a $100 prize. CP Kiwanis selected Praneeth Sajja, Vista Ridge High School, as its top overall winner. She will advance to a district competition where she could receive a $500 college award. While competitors should expect a fierce match up at the district level, winners in the past have represented LISD well. Most recently, in the 2018-2019 competition, Kiwanis Texas-Oklahoma District selected  Michael Neibauer, Vista Ridge High School, as a district winner!

Thank you to our 2020 Sophomores of the Year who continue to make us proud!