Leander ISD Superintendent Bruce Gearing, Ed.D., announced that 31 LISD students are distinguished as Semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program based on their outstanding performances on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). 

“I commend these outstanding students for seizing the opportunity to excel among their peers from across the country,” Gearing said. “It is a credit to them, their families and their dedicated teachers that they are in such elite company, and I join our LISD community in congratulating them for their achievements.” 

The National Merit Scholarship Program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies. National Merit Semifinalists, who represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, include the highest-scoring entrants in each state. These academically talented high school seniors will compete for scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring.

National Merit Semifinalists are as follows:

Cedar Park High School 

Collin Borenstein

Kellen Cao

Thomas Wu

Leander High School 

Abigail Beman

Athvait Manikantan

Daniel Shen

Rouse High School

Medha Reddy

Vandegrift High School 

Forrest Broe

Angelica Burtscher

Myna Chintapalli

Nathan Cong

Anaika Eledath

Sean Gray

Sarthak Gupta

Ian Howell

Karis Hu

Nicole Imming

Kruthik Kalidas

Andrew McAlinden

Clayton Moore

Grace Park

Svanik Sharma

Michael Tao

Daniel Warren

Hillary Xu

Vista Ridge High School  

Evan Miller

Ramya Nambala

Ankush Rao

Praneeth Sajja

Meghna Vergis

Evan Wolfe