Leander ISD students participated in the Regional Cen-Tex History Day competition on Saturday, Feb. 18, 2023, placing in eight different categories. Additionally, Canyon Ridge U.S. History Teacher Sarah Coffee was recognized as a finalist for the David C. DeBoe Teacher of the Year Award.

The following students placed for their entries and will go on to represent Leander ISD at the Texas History Day competition in April.

Junior Division Group Documentary

  • Ana Boshakova and Judy Song, CRMS – First Place
  • Shaurya Singh, Alexavier Miranda and Aaron Bielik, CRMS – Second Place

Junior Division Group Exhibit

  • Brooke Oatman and Emma Edington, CRMS – First Place
  • Sanya Hooda, Aarya Apte, and Aaday Ganjalagunte, CRMS – Second Place

Junior Division Group Performance

  • Sophie Smentana, Kat Wilson, Elena Nassar and Abbie Hurley, CRMS – First Place

Junior Division Group Website

  • Vinisha Gandhi, Cora Harper and Sean Paz, CRMS – Second Place

Junior Division Individual Documentary

  • Abigail Xu, CRMS – First Place

Junior Division Individual Exhibit

  • Alicia Valeiro Vázquez, CRMS – Second Place
  • Shaye Wirth, CRMS – Third Place

Senior Division Individual Website

  • Shreya Poladia, VHS – Third Place

Junior Division Paper

  • Oorja Kumar, CRMS – Second Place
  • Emerson Fitzgerald, CRMS – Third Place