Nine Leander ISD bands have recently been named winners by The Foundation for Music Education. The Foundation is dedicated to the support and advancement of music education through scholarship and other worthwhile projects and annually awards national recognition to middle and high school bands.

National winners in the Mark of Excellence Project for varsity bands are:

  • Cedar Park Middle School Symphonic Band – Manuel San Luis, director
  • Canyon Ridge Middle School Band – Amy Allison, director
  • Florence Stiles Middle School Band – Darcy Williams, director
  • Henry Middle School Honors Band – Robert Herrings, director
  • Wiley Middle School Wind Ensemble – Garland Chiasson, director
  • Vista Ridge High School Wind Ensemble – Bryan Christian, director

Commended Winner:
Running Brushy Middle School Band – Van Robison, director

Citation of Excellence winners for non-varsity bands are:

  • Canyon Ridge Middle School Symphonic Band – Carter Matshek, director
  • Florence Stiles Middle School Symphonic Band – Jenna Yee, director
  • Henry Middle School Symphonic Band – Rachel Johstone, director
  • Vandegrift High School Symphonic Winds – Stephanie Grote, director

Commended Winners:
Cedar Park Middle School Concert One Band – David Barnes, director
Rouse High School Wind Ensemble – Ryan Johnstone, director

Congratulations to these outstanding bands and their directors!